[light] [dark]

Miles Ahead session details

[Return to main page]

June 1, 1974 (9 items; TT = 105:08)
Theatro Municipal, São Paulo (Brazil)
Band recording (B+)

Miles Davis (tpt, org); Dave Liebman (ss, ts, fl); Pete Cosey (g, perc); Reggie Lucas (g); Dominique Gaumont (g); Michael Henderson (el-b); Al Foster (d); James Mtume Forman (cga, perc)

First set
1 Funk [Prelude, part 1] (M. Davis) 21:49

Henderson plays the seven-note "Yesternow" el-b vamp throughout the first 17:50 (the "Funk" vamp begins in earnest ca. 18:20); Liebman toys with the transition to "For Dave" at 18:16-18:23
2 Ife (M. Davis) 12:21
3 Right Off (incomplete) (M. Davis) 12:51

Cut off at end of closing cga solo (not much missing)

Second set
4 Calypso Frelimo (M. Davis) 12:27
5 Turnaroundphrase (M. Davis) 4:34
6 Tune in 5 (M. Davis) 4:53

"Willie Nelson" vamp by various guitars 0:02-2:15; Henderson plays "Rated X" vamp, 4:18-4:29
7 Turnaroundphrase (M. Davis) 1:40
8 Agharta Prelude (M. Davis) 8:37

Gaumont introduces the "Agharta Prelude" theme; the band continues with "Turnaroundphrase" until about 1:40
9 For Dave (with applause) [Mr. Foster] (M. Davis) 25:56

Cga/perc solo 22:30-25:40; applause 21:14-21:45 as Davis leaves stage, 22:57-23:08 as others leave

The Davis Octet made a tour of South American cities in May 1974, and they were booked for three nights in Rio de Janeiro (May 23-25: Thursday-Saturday) and three in São Paulo (May 28 and 31, June 1: Tuesday, Friday, Saturday). Several recordings from this tour exist (made by Liebman or others in the band). Thanks to Lulu Pereira for help with these sessions, and to John Howker for the scans of the Rio de Janeiro program.

All original content on this website is licensed by Peter Losin under a Creative Commons License