[light] [dark]

Miles Ahead session details

[Return to main page]

October 29, 1983 (21 items; TT = 167:51)
Philharmonie, Berlin (West Germany)
Sender Freies Berlin TV broadcast (unkn)

Miles Davis (tpt, synth); William D. "Bill" Evans (ss, ts, fl); John Scofield (g); Robert Irving III (synth); Darryl Jones (el-b); Al Foster (d); Mino Cinelu (perc)

First concert
1 Speak (M. Davis) 12:12
2 Star People [New Blues] (M. Davis) 9:05

Evans out
3 What It Is (M. Davis-J. Scofield) 6:41
4 It Gets Better (M. Davis) 11:31
5 Hopscotch (M. Miller) 6:02
6 Star on Cicely - Unite [Creepin' In] (M. Davis) 13:44
7 Jean Pierre (M. Davis) 10:49

Evans out
8 Unknown Title 0:53

rhythm only
9 Code M.D. (R. Irving III) 8:11
10 Speak (M. Davis) 2:46
11 Unite [Creepin' In] (M. Davis) 1:44

Evans out

Second concert
12 Speak (M. Davis) 12:10
13 Star People [New Blues] (M. Davis) 9:10

Evans out
14 What It Is (M. Davis-J. Scofield) 10:25
15 It Gets Better (M. Davis) 12:32
16 Hopscotch (M. Miller) 8:55
17 Star on Cicely - Unite [Creepin' In] (M. Davis) 8:53
18 Jean Pierre (M. Davis) 12:00

Evans out
19 Unknown Title 0:38

rhythm only
20 Code M.D. (R. Irving III) 7:03
21 Speak (M. Davis) 2:27

"Star People" through "Star on Cicely" from the second concert were announced as "Miles Blues" - "That's What Happened" - "It Gets Better" - "United."

"Code M.D." from the first concert was broadcast in an incomplete version (6:47); and "Speak" was not broadcast.

In a 2006 re-broadcast of the second concert, an excerpt from Scofield's solo from "Jean Pierre" was added to "It Gets Better" (TT = 15:31).

Davis played a few European venues in late October:

October 23: Sala Kongresowa, Warsaw, Poland
October 25: Palacio de los Deportes, Madrid, Spain
October 29: Philharmonie, Berlin, West Germany (two concerts)
October 31: Palais des Congres, Paris, France (two concerts)

All original content on this website is licensed by Peter Losin under a Creative Commons License