[light] [dark]

Miles Ahead session details

[Return to main page]

December 14, 1984 (7 items; TT = 107:10)
3 Falke Scenen, Copenhagen (Denmark)
Danmarks Radio broadcast (unkn)

Miles Davis (tpt); Benny Rosenfeld (tpt, flh); Palle Bolvig (tpt, flh); Idrees Sulieman (tpt, flh); Jens Winther (tpt, flh); Perry Knudsen (tpt, flh); Vincent Nilsson (tb); Ture Larsen (tb); Ole Kurt Jensen (tb); Jens Engel (bass tb); Axel Windfeld (bass tb, tuba); Jesper Thilo (ss, as, fl, cl); Per Carsten (as, fl); Bent Jædig (ss, ts, fl); Uffe Karskov (ts, fl, alto fl, cl); Flemming Madsen (bs, fl, cl, bcl); Ole Kock Hansen (keyb); Thomas Clausen (keyb); Kenneth Knudsen (keyb); John Scofield (g); Bo Sylvén (g); Bjarne Roupé (g); Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen (b); Bo Stief (el-b); Lennart Gruvstedt (d); Marilyn Mazur (perc); Ethan Weisgard (Latin perc); Niels Eje (oboe); Lillian Tørnquist (harp); Palle Mikkelborg (arr, cond)

1 Introduction 2:43
2 Aura (P. Mikkelborg) 66:28

"Aura" includes Intro, White, Yellow, Orange, Red, Green, Blue, Electric Red, Indigo, and Violet. Davis and Scofield play only on the last section
3 Violet (encore) (P. Mikkelborg) 9:45
4 Announcement 3:31

Davis received the Leonie Sonning Award after the performance of "Aura," and and played a short encore with parts of members of the Danish Radio Big Band
5 Time After Time (fs) (C. Lauper-R. Hyman) 0:18
6 Time After Time (C. Lauper-R. Hyman) 8:09
7 Jean Pierre (M. Davis) 16:16

Only excerpts of the rehearsal have been broadcast.

"Intro" is a pre-recorded track played by Palle Mikkelborg and Kenneth Knudsen, probably recorded in early December 1984. The composition "Aura" uses pre-recorded tape with Eva Hess-Taysen's overdubbed voices, again recorded in early December 1984.

All original content on this website is licensed by Peter Losin under a Creative Commons License