[light] [dark]

Miles Ahead session details

[Return to main page]

November 1, 1985 (16 items; TT = 136:13)
Philharmonie, Berlin (West Germany)
Norddeutscher Rundfunk (NDR) TV broadcast (unkn)

Miles Davis (tpt, synth); Bob Berg (ss, ts, synth); Mike Stern (g); Robert Irving III (synth); Adam Holzman (synth); Angus Thomas (el-b); Vincent Wilburn Jr. (d); Steve Thornton (perc); Marilyn Mazur (perc)

1 One Phone Call - Street Scenes (inc) (M. Davis) 0:41

Berg out
2 Speak (M. Davis) 10:45
3 New Blues [Star People] (E. Davis) 6:50

Berg out
4 Maze (M. Davis) 11:20
5 Human Nature (S. Porcaro-J. Bettis) 11:03
6 Something on Your Mind (H. Eaves III-J. Williams) 10:09
7 Time After Time (C. Lauper-R. Hyman) 8:50

Berg on synth only
8 Ms. Morrisine (M. Tynes Irving-M. Davis-R. Irving III) 9:15
9 Code M.D. (R. Irving III) 8:55
10 Pacific Express (M. Davis) 11:55

Berg out
11 Pacific Express (encore) (M. Davis) 2:00

Davis (tpt) and Irving (synth) only
12 Burn (R. Irving III-R. Hall) 7:25
13 Stronger Than Before (M. Davis) 9:10

Berg out
14 Hopscotch (M. Miller) 14:12
15 Rubberband (encore) (M. Davis-R. Hall-A.Z. Giles) 8:30

Berg out
16 Broken Wing (S. George-J. Lang-R. Page) 5:13

Berg on synth only

"Speak" and "New Blues" were announced as "That's what Happened" and "Slow Blues" respectively.

Adam Holzman joined the Davis group just before they left on a European tour in late October:

October 24: Chapiteaú de la Pepiniere, Nancy, France (two concerts)
October 26: Sportshallen, Umeå, Sweden
October 27: Olympen, Lund
October 28: Falkonercentret, Copenhagen, Denmark
October 31: Vorst-Nationaal, Brussels, Belgium
November 1: Philharmonie, Berlin, West Germany
November 2: Hallenstadion, Zürich, Switzerland
November 4: Stadthalle, Wien, Austria
November 5: Teatro Tenda Lampugnano, Milan, Italy
November 7: Staatsoper, Hamburg, West Germany
November 8: Frankenhalle, Nürnberg

All original content on this website is licensed by Peter Losin under a Creative Commons License