[light] [dark]

Miles Ahead session details

[Return to main page]

January 23, 1975 (8 items; TT = 101:59)
Shinjuku Kohseinenkin Hall, Tokyo (Japan)
Audience recording (B)

Miles Davis (tpt, org); Sonny Fortune (ss, as, fl); Pete Cosey (g, perc, synth); Reggie Lucas (g); Michael Henderson (el-b); Al Foster (d); James Mtume Forman (cga, perc)

First set
1 Ife (M. Davis) 14:14
2 Maiysha (M. Davis) 13:38
3 Right Off (with applause) (M. Davis) 12:55

Second set
4 Funk (incomplete) [Prelude, part 1] (M. Davis) 14:29
5 Mtume (M. Davis) 12:32
6 For Dave [Mr. Foster] (M. Davis) 8:53
7 Calypso Frelimo (incomplete) (M. Davis) 11:50
8 Tune in 5 (M. Davis) 13:28


1 Ife
CD: YSP 0606001

2 Maiysha
CD: YSP 0606001

3 Right Off (with applause)
CD: YSP 0606001

4 Funk (incomplete)
CD: YSP 0606001

5 Mtume
CD: YSP 0606001

6 For Dave
CD: YSP 0606001

7 Calypso Frelimo (incomplete)
CD: YSP 0606001

8 Tune in 5
CD: YSP 0606001


After warming up the Septet on the west coast, Davis embarked on a three-week Japanese tour. The itinerary was as follows:

January 22 (Wed): Tokyo Koseinenkinkaikan Hall (7:00 pm)
January 23 (Thu): Tokyo Koseinenkinkaikan Hall (7:00 pm)
January 24 (Fri): Nagoya Shiminkaikan (Nagoya civic auditorium) (6:30 pm)
January 25 (sat): Kyoto Kaikan Hall (No. 1) (6:30 pm)
January 27 (Mon): Sapporo Koseinenkinkaikan Hall (6:30 pm)
January 30 (Thu): Kokura Shiminkaikan (City Hall) (6:30 pm)
February 1 (Sat): Osaka Festival Hall (two concerts, 4:00 pm and 7:00 pm)
February 2 (Sun): Osaka Festival Hall (2:00 pm)
February 3 (Mon): Shizuoka City Sunpukaikan (6:30 pm)
February 4 (Tue): Miyagi Kenminkaikan (6:30 pm)
February 7 (Fri): Tokyo Koseinenkinkaikan Hall
February 8 (Sat): Tokyo Koseinenkinkaikan Hall (two concerts, 2:00 pm and 7:00 pm)

Several of the concerts were recorded and broadcast on Japanese radio. Thanks to Eric Jooris for providing me with a copy of the concert program, and to Tom Yamaguchi for translating the schedule for me.

All original content on this website is licensed by Peter Losin under a Creative Commons License