Miles Ahead session details

[Return to main page]

March 21, 1960 (8 items; TT = 85:40)
Olympia Theatre, Paris (France)
Europe-1 radio broadcast (B+)
Miles Davis Quintet

Miles Davis (tpt); John Coltrane (ts); Wynton Kelly (p); Paul Chambers (b); Jimmy Cobb (d)

First concert
1 All of You (C. Porter) 17:03
2 So What (M. Davis) 13:25
3 On Green Dolphin Street (N. Washington-B. Kaper) 14:39

Second concert
4 Walkin' (R. Carpenter) 15:51
5 Bye Bye Blackbird (R. Henderson-M. Dixon) 13:57
6 'Round Midnight (B. Hanighen-C. Williams-T. Monk) 5:36
7 Oleo (S. Rollins) 4:22
8 The Theme (M. Davis) 0:47


1 All of You
CD: Trema 710455/8, Trema 710576, Frémeaux & Associés FA 5451

2 So What
CD: Trema 710455/8, Trema 710576, Frémeaux & Associés FA 5451

3 On Green Dolphin Street
CD: Trema 710455/8, Trema 710576, Frémeaux & Associés FA 5451

4 Walkin'
CD: Trema 710455/8, Trema 710577, Frémeaux & Associés FA 5451

5 Bye Bye Blackbird
CD: Trema 710455/8, Trema 710577, Frémeaux & Associés FA 5451

6 'Round Midnight
CD: Trema 710455/8, Trema 710577, Frémeaux & Associés FA 5451

7 Oleo
CD: Trema 710455/8, Trema 710577, Frémeaux & Associés FA 5451

8 The Theme
CD: Trema 710455/8, Trema 710577, Frémeaux & Associés FA 5451


There is probably more music from the first set. The applause after "On Green Dolphin Street" is faded very quickly and the Quintet may have performed another tune and almost certainly closed the set with "The Theme."

From March 21 through April 10, the Davis Quintet toured Europe, along with Oscar Peterson and the Stan Getz and their groups, under the auspices of Norman Granz's "Jazz at the Philharmonic." Davis had hired vibraphonist Buddy Montgomery for the tour but at the last minute Montgomery bowed out. Surprisingly few recordings from this tour have surfaced. The itinerary was as follows:

March 21 (Monday, 7:30 and 10:30 pm), Olympia Theatre, Paris
March 22 (Tuesday, 7:00 and 9:15 pm), Konserthuset, Stockholm
March 23 (Wednesday), Njardhallen, Oslo (or Goteburg, Sweden)
March 24 (Thursday, 7:00 and 9:30 pm), Tivolis Konsertsal, Copenhagen
March 25 (Friday, 8:00 pm), Niedersachsenhalle, Hannover
March 26 (Saturday, 8:00 pm), Weser-Ems-Halle, Oldenburg
March 27 (Sunday, 8:00 pm), Sportspalast, Berlin
March 28 (Monday), WDR Studio, Düsseldorf (Davis out)
March 29 (Tuesday, 6:00 and 9:00 pm), Musikhalle, Hamburg
March 30 (Wednesday), Kongresshalle, Frankfurt am Main
March 31 (Thursday, 9:15 pm), Teatro Lirico, Milan
April 1 (Friday, 8:00 pm), Fruchthalle, Kaiserslautern
April 2 (Saturday, 6:15 and 9:45 pm), Messehalle, Köln
April 3 (Sunday, 6:00 and 9:00 pm), Deutsches Museum, Kongress-Saal, Munich
April 4 (Monday, 8:00 pm), Stadthalle, Karlsruhe
April 6 (Wednesday), Stadthalle, Vienna
April 7 (Thursday, two shows), Messehaus, Nürnberg
April 8 (Friday, 8:30 pm), Kongresshaus, Zürich
April 9 (Saturday, 8:15 pm), Kurhaus, Scheveningen
April 9 (Saturday, midnight), Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
April 10 (Sunday, 8:00 pm), Liederhalle, Beethoven-Saal, Stuttgart

The Paris date (recorded by Europe-1 Radio) was quite a controversial beginning to the tour, since Coltrane was loudly booed during his solo on "Bye Bye Blackbird." Some contemporary reviews of the 1960 Quintet are reprinted in the booklet that accompanies Trema 710455/8.

Thanks to David Wild and Guy Reynard for help with this session.

All original content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons License. Creative Commons License